Goal difference knocks out Kenya from round of 16 in the ongoing Afcon

Harambee Stars that failed yet again to qualify for the knock out phase in over four decades.Photo/Courtesy

By Reuben Olita.

Goal difference locked Kenya out of the round of 16 of the AFCON 2019 in Egypt after Benin secured a dramatic 0-0 draw against defending champions in their last Group F preliminary match.

Kenya had hoped Cameroon would emerge winners to earn them an historic qualification for the knock out phase for the first time since 1972 when they made their debut in the championships .
Egypt , Uganda (Group A), Madagascar, Nigeria (Group B), Algeria, Senegal (Group C), Morocco, Ivory Coast (Group D), Mali, Tunisia (Group E) ,Ghana and Cameroon (Group F) had secured automatic qualification after emerging group winners and runners up respectively.
Four best third placed teams were picked to join the top 12 for the knock out phase. Guinea was top third ranked team with four points. DR Congo (0 goal difference), Benin (0) and South Africa (-1) joined Guinea despite tying on three points with Kenya who had (-4) GD.
With the exit of Kenya and Tanzania, Uganda remains the only East African nation in the round of 16. Uganda Cranes will take on Senegal in the first match on Friday with Morocco meeting Benin in the second match.
Other pairings: Madagascar v DR Congo, Ghana v Tunisia, Mali v Ivory Coast, Algeria v Guinea, Nigeria v Cameroon and Egypt v South Africa.